Four Cornerstones of Financial Literacy

150 wellbeing points

A big part of overall wellbeing is feeling in control of your finances. The University has partnered with LSS Financial Counseling to provide a complete course to help you build financial literacy and take control over money.

The course is comprised of four classes, each of which deal with a different cornerstone of personal finance such as:

  • Budgeting to create savings
  • Debt reduction and asset building
  • Building a good credit rating
  • Consumer protection and financial institutions

2019 Course Dates and Times

Courses are open to employees only and have an attendance cap of 20 people. Because attendance is limited, you must commit to attending all four 90-minute sessions to register for the course. To earn 150 wellbeing points you also must attend all four sessions and sign the attendance sheet at each session.

Morris and Duluth Four Cornerstones sessions are being communicated and managed by representatives right on campus. For information on sessions in Morris, contact Angie Berlinger at aberling@morris.umn.edu. For information on Duluth sessions, you can reach out to umdwell@d.umn.edu.

East Bank - Donhowe Building

Date Time Room
Monday, March 11, 2019 11:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. 210 Donhowe Building
Monday, March 18, 2019 11:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. 110 Donhowe Building
Monday, March 25, 2019 11:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. 210 Donhowe Building
Monday, April 1, 2019 11:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. 317/318 Donhowe Building

St. Paul - Student Center

Date Time Room
Thursday, March 14, 2019 11:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. 202 St. Paul Student Center
Thursday, March 21, 2019 11:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. 202 St. Paul Student Center
Thursday, March 28, 2019 11:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. 202 St. Paul Student Center
Thursday, April 4, 2019 11:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. 202 St. Paul Student Center

East Bank - Donhowe Building

Date Time Room
Monday, June 3, 2019 11:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. 210 Donhowe Building
Monday, June 10, 2019 11:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. 210 Donhowe Building
Monday, June 17, 2019 11:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. 210 Donhowe Building
Monday, June 24, 2019 11:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. 210 Donhowe Building

More Resources

If you were not able to get into a course, the University does have financial counseling available.